Support Special Olympics

         The Guelph-Wellington Special Olympics held their annual awards banquet on Friday October 16th at the Holiday Inn in Guelph. It was a night dedicated to the outstanding athletes, coaches, and volunteers in the 2008-2009 sporting year.  The Wellington Special Olympics organization has a swim, softball, basketball, hockey, and bowling team that practice weekly and compete across the province in tournaments. One highlight of the year was men’s floor hockey team, as they qualified to the International Competition in Boise, Idaho. A huge congratulation goes out to the hockey stars as they brought home the silver medal!

        I hold a position on the OAC 2010 Bucks class executive, and over the past two years we have been hosting a Euchre Tournament on campus each semester. All the proceeds from this event are donated to the Guelph-Wellington Special Olympics organization. Along with a fellow director, I attended the banquet as they wanted to recognize our classes’ contribution to this great program. As I entered the dining hall I was taken away by the spirit, enthusiasm, and cheerfulness of the athletes. The smiling face of the athletes as they received an award was tear striking. There was no jealousy or hatred in the room; everyone was happy and very supportive for one another.

       The Special Olympics Moto is, ““Let me win but if I cannot win let me be brave in the attempt”. I wish more sporting events where geared around this motto. Sports should not just be about winning, but focus more on self development and team building skills. I am so proud to be able to help the Guelph-Wellington Special Olympics, it was a humbling experience. I took my life for granted, and learned that my problems or stresses in my life are minute compared to the problems some of the athletes battled through.

 Please, check out Guelph-Wellington Special Olympics’ website; http://communitylinks.cioc.ca/record/GCL1109 to find more information about volunteering or supporting the vital program.

special olympics

~ by mpfister on October 19, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
